EuroELSO Awards 2020

Young Investigator Award

Young investigators are encouraged to participate in the 9th EuroELSO Congress. Aim of the Young Investigator Award is to support excellent young fellows and to present their scientific abstracts to the world’s top ECMO leaders. Young investigators are young scientists, doctors, nurses and perfusionists.

Young Investigator Award Winners 2020

Stefania Bianzina, Genova, Italy
Nina Buchtele, Vienna, Austria
Mattia Busana, Göttingen, Germany
Francesco Cabrucci, Firenze, Italy
Joshua Chinchilla, Brisbane, Australia
Sebastiano Maria Colombo, Milan, Italy
Giulia Colussi, Milan, Italy
Anna Farrús, Barcelona, Spain
Christoph Fisser, Regensburg, Germany
Kensuke Fujita, Utsunomiya, Japan
Christopher Gaisendrees, Cologne, Germany
Silver Heinsar, Brisbane, Australia
Marta Hernandez-Meneses, Barcelona, Spain
Kristin Hugenroth, Aachen, Germany
Federica Jiritano, Maastricht, Netherlands
Mariusz Kowalewski, Warsaw, Poland
Valeria Lo Coco, Maastricht, Netherlands
Maria Inês Lopes, Lisbon, Portugal
Catarina Marques Duarte, Lisbon, Portugal
Rebecca McMillan, London, United Kingdom
Paolo Meani, Maastricht, Netherlands
Chetan Pasrija, Baltimore, United States
Michaela Popkova, Prague, Czech Republic
Ethan Sanford, Dallas, United States
Francesco Vasques, London, United Kingdom

Requirements for application

  • Submission of a scientific abstract
  • Age below 35 years (on 5 May 2020)
  • Motivation statement of a supervisor (max. one page, PDF format)

Components of the Young Investigator Award

  • Complimentary registration for pre- and main congress
  • Accommodation for up to three nights (between 5 and 8 May 2020, about 150 euros per night)
  • Applicants from Middle and Eastern European Countries will receive a travel cost support
    (Europe: up to 250,00 euros, rest of the world: up to 600,00 euros on presentation of the original receipts)

Young Investigator Award Winners 2019

Christoph Fisser, Germany
Katrina Ki, Australia
Susan Leutloff, Germany
Francisco José Parrilla Gómez, Spain
Dejan Radakovic, Germany
Genny Raffaeli, Italy
Núria Rodríguez Farré, Spain
Neel Shah, USA
Niklas Steuer, Germany
Eugene Taranov, Russian Federation
Xun Zhou, USA

Best Poster Awards 2019

On Thursday, 11 April 2019, a large variety of scientific posters were presented and discussed during a one-hour poster session.
The authors of the best poster in the categories Adult, Experimental, Nurse and Pediatric were awarded the EuroELSO “Best Poster” prize in the respective category.

Best Poster Award Winners 2019

Adult: Atle Solholm, Norway
Myocardial perfusion diminishes during ECMO-supported circulation and critical post-cardiotomy failure in a porcine model

Experimental: Xun Zhou, United States
A novel contrast echocardiography technique to identify optimal hemodynamic conditions

Nurse: Patricia Alfaro, Canada
The strategic roles of nursing during ECPR

Pediatric: Lukas Schroeder, Germany
Increase soluble ST2 concentration

The Young Investigator Awards are supported by GETINGE.